Displacing worry…

My heart is burdened lately.  There’s nothing major, just little things here and there that are piling up.

I’m stressed out about money, even though I know there’s no need to.  I’m heartbroken for friends who are going through painful experiences and I know I can’t help.  I’m missing people who I used to see so often and now I haven’t talked to in months.  I’m anxious because I am the type of person who likes to know what’s around the corner and even though most of the time I love the adventurous side of my life every once in awhile I get overwhelmed by the unpredictability.

The other day I did what I should actually do when I get stressed out and I turned to God. (I’m ashamed to admit how infrequently that is my first response.)  I’ve been reading through 1 Kings lately but decided I needed a change and went to Philippians.

A verse that is constantly quoted from Philippians is 4:6-7.  Here it is in the ESV:

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

I’ve heard this verse hundreds of times.  I wanted a fresh perspective on it, so I went to The Message translation:

“Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.”

It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

What do you need for Christ to displace in the center of your life?  For me (right now), it’s worry.  Next week, it could be something else.  Insecurity.  Gossip.  Arrogance.  Entitlement.  Take your pick.  We all have something, and I’m sure as soon as worry is displaced for me that something else will come along that I will need to hand over to God.

Despite my anxiety I know that God is completely unwavering in His love for me.  I’m thankful for that assurance.  For now, that will get me through my worrying while I shape my worries into prayers and wait for that sense of God’s wholeness to settle me down.

Leave a comment

Filed under life

Leave a Reply

